Concept Development: Don’t panic. Just do not panic. *

Okay. So things are looking a little terrifying right now and my writers block is still firmly cemented in place.

My concerns from the very beginning of this project have really come to a head, in that:

1.) To successfully pull off an interlinked story with so many characters in the medium I want, there needs to be a script so detailed that it would blow peoples mind. I don’t have time for that, and if your going to do these things properly they have to be done right.

2.) Importantly, running something live will be exceptionally difficult to record and hand in for the assessment brief, and won’t really have much to say at the exhibition.

3.) Generating the content for a story once done would be great if we had participating actors and actresses… like most things in uni – everyone is eager and over enthusiastic at the start of the year… but bring on the looming deadlines and felling of impending doom with everybody buried in their own work – people aren’t quite so quick to volunteer their time. This is completely understandable and something I had accounted for but means a plan of action needs to happen and needs to happen ASAP!

Change of direction 

Since meeting with my production tutor Liam, I have decided that instead of trying to write a story that expresses and utilises social media about a group of characters… instead I shall look at conceptualising the whole process of audience consumption of social media itself combining all the ideas I wanted to portray but instead creating a conceptual study and artistic installation for the exhibition. My concerns are that it would not meet the brief, however Liam has clarified that it does, and will stand alone as its own unique piece.

Its at times like these I ask myself why I struggle to commit to an idea – I have had this idea bouncing around my head for so long and done so much research and reading but when it comes to putting pen to paper, I struggle. This is something I need to note for future project work – Just commit and face the fears. Tell the world is great, make them believe in it as much as you do.

Read the next post for the mind map of conceptualisation ideas…

(Email to Mik and Simon clarifying the idea change with Liam)

Leave a Reply

